I work at home in a ground floor office. Last week it was warm and I had all the doors open. I was working at my desk, looked up to my left when I heard a rustle, and there was a horse walking right into my office- no- not a horse. a dog, a VERY big dog, and he came right up to me and put his head in my lap……..before I could register what was happening, ANOTHER horse, no dog, followed him right over to me.

Black giant dog with head in lap drooled over me, I started laughing, stood up, and reached into my memory banks that BIG DOGS ARE GENTLE…and quietly told them to follow me outside. Dog #2 decided that the stairs leading to my comfy couches in the living room was a much better option- I had to coax him down the stairs, and led them both outside into my front yard.

I stood there wondering what to do. Were they lost, and who the heck owned them? My biggest fear at that point was that they would “poop” in my yard- I did NOT want to have to clean that up!

Well, they wandered off, and I called our Dog Catcher who never showed up. That was that.

Friday, I looked outside, and there was my friend again- Dog #1. I went outside, because now I was concerned that he was really lost and scared- I grabbed my portable phone with the Dog Catcher’s phone number. He came up to me wagging his giant tail, I sat on my bench on the porch, he settled down making sure his backside was on my foot, and we meditated together…….he eventually wandered off before DC came. When she did arrive, I had seen him go up my street, she went up and found out that my new neighbours who are currently just coming over the renovate the cabin, were their owners and would now keep them nearby.

I still laugh when I think of their strolling into my office- here is a picture of another person’s close encounter! And when I attract, I attract BIG these days!!!