I have to admit- I was curious to find out how it would end. When two people have conflicting desires, who will win out. Here is my story:

We just celebrated Mother’s Day in North America, and a tradition for those of us that live far from our mothers is to send flowers. Every time I do so, my mother calls me to say that she received them, but that I was far too extravagant. In the beginning of this yearly exchange, I used to feel hurt; now I understand her “post Depression” mentality.

So this year, I chose not to send flowers but a basket of plants that I ordered over the internet. I spoke to my mom the day before Mother’s Day and at the end of the conversation she admonished me: ” Now remember, no extravagant flowers for Mother’s Day! Save your money!” I wondered then how her and my desires could both be fulfilled. I could not have organized what transpired next.

When she did not call me to thank me on Mother’s Day, and then tell me that I should not have done so, I called the florist who told me that they had lost a whole bunch of internet orders and that her basket was not delivered. I laughed and thought to myself- she won! I told them to just cancel my order.

Well…… I just got a call back from the florist- they want to deliver flowers now to my mother at no cost to me as an apology for losing my order. I couldn’t stop laughing as it dawned on me that we were BOTH going to get our desires….my giving her flowers, and she knowing that I had not spent any money on them.

